Help End the Addiction Epidemic. Join the New SMART Insiders+ Program

Understanding the Stages of Change

from Changing for Good by James Prochaska

Stage #1 Pre-Contemplation

Unaware of problems associated with behavior. Certain that the positives of the behavior out- weigh the negative. Not interested in change. Unwilling to change. No intention to change. Unaware Resistant

Stage #2 Contemplation

Becomes aware of problems associated withbehavior. Ambivalent regarding positives and negatives. Explores the potential to change. Desires to change behavior but lacks confidence and commitment. Intends to change before 6 months. Awareness Openness Decision This is an event, not a stage. Concludes that the negatives of the behavior out-weigh the positives and chooses to change behavior. Commitment

Stage #3 Preparation

Accepts responsibility to change behavior. Evaluates and selects techniques for behavior. Develops a plan. Builds confidence and commitment. Intends to change within one month. Anticipation Willingness

Stage #4 Action

Engages in self-directed behavior change effort. Gains new insights and develops new skills. Consciously chooses new behavior. Learns to overcome the tendencies for unwanted behavior. Active in action stage for less than six months. Enthusiasm Momentum

Stage #5 Maintenance

Masters the ability to sustain new behavior with minimum effort. Establishes desired new behavior patterns and self-control. Remains alert to high- risksituations. Focus is on lapse prevention. Has changed behavior for six months. Perseverence Consolidation Lapse or Relapse This is an event, not a stage. May occur at any time. Personal distress or social pressures are allowed to interrupt the behavior change process. Temporary loss of progress which resumes at an earlier stage. Experience is educational to help prevent further recurrence. Danger Opportunity

Stage #6 Termination

Adopts new self-image consistent with desired behavior and lifestyle. Does not react to temptation in any situation. Expresses confidence and enjoys self-control. Appreciates healthier and happier life.
The Stages of Change
Most successful self-changers go through the stages three or four times before they make it through the cycle of change without at least one slip. Most will return to the contemplation stage of change. Slips give us the opportunity to learn.