Share this SMART Recovery Success Story!

Default Support & Encouragement

That is what SMART is full of, support and encouragement. From the first day I joined I knew this is what I really needed. I didn't need anyone telling me I was screwing up my life, I drink too much or I was heading for some health problems if I didn't quit. I already knew that, I needed to know how to quit and deal with all the regret, embarassment, fear, anxiety and bordem. Staying sober is not easy, it is very hard work, but if you want it bad enough SMART gives you the support, encouragement and tools to do it. I am relatively new to the program and I still have to work very hard every day. Someone once said "If it was easy, everyone would be doing it." and that is very true.
    The people are what make SMART, it truely is a community. There are so many volunteers who lay their heart out everyday for everyone here and I just want to say "Thank you so much for that!." We could not do it without you.
    If you read the posts you will notice anyone who has been part of SMART for even a short time will write things like "us, we, our". It is never just "the SMART community, them, it". We all take owership here and help each other when we are stong enough. I hope to be strong enough to be a volunteer one day myself.
    So if you really want to quit whatever it is you are doing or using, sign up, log in and hit the chat room. I promise, someone there will welcome you with arms wide open, probably more than one.
    Stay strong and keep moving forward.
    Gruntwench

I feel the same way GW. I joined in Sept 2013, so a month or so behind you, but so grateful for the tools, the friends, the community and the support I receive here at SMART. You personally reached out to me in my early days and continuing and that friendship and encouragement meant so much. Keep up the good work.